Sunday, December 13, 2009

BHS Athletic Hall of Fame UPDATE

Group to be honored

Burbank High Athletic Hall of Fame to pay tribute to latest class in second induction ceremony next year.

By Jeff Tully
Published: Last Updated Friday, December 11, 2009 11:22 PM PST

BURBANK HIGH — When organizers at Burbank High began the Burbank High Athletic Hall of Fame last year, they envisioned a schedule of induction that would occur every two years.

With the success of last year’s inaugural ceremony, the school has continued the tradition it started, and a new group of inductees will be enshrined next year.

Earlier this week, the Hall of Fame committee released the list of the second class to be honored.

The induction ceremony is scheduled to take place at 6 p.m. Nov. 12 in the school’s auditorium.

The latest group includes Bryon “Tony” Frank, Roy and John Lockwood, Bob Pierce, Ken Ziskin, Ralph Botting, Christy Calderon, Frank Kallem and Dave Kemp. In addition, the 1975 CIF-champion softball team and the 1964 CIF-champion boys’ cross-country team will be honored.

“I think we have a pretty good group for next year,” Burbank Athletic Director Fred Cook said. “There are some very talented names on that list.”

The current class boasts some outstanding recipients.


Frank, class of 1928, is considered by some to be the school’s best athlete ever. He earned an amazing 16 varsity letters and led a host of teams to league championships. He went on to play football at UCLA.

Back Row: Ray Turner (Tennis), Maurice Wiley (JV Football), Pete Peterson (B Basketball), Les Bruckner (Varsity Football), Roy Lockwood (Varsity Basketball). Front Row: Ray Trainer (Rifle Team), Bob Brewer ( B Football), Don McMurry ( Track & Cross Country), Richard "Dick" Minasian ( Baseball & Athletic Director). source


Lockwood, class of 1932, was a three-sport standout for the Bulldogs. He returned to the school as a coach, winning league titles in boys’ basketball and swimming. His 1967 swim team won a CIF Southern Section championship. He went on to star at the University of Redlands and is a member of the school’s hall of fame.


Lockwood, class of 1960 — son of Roy — was an All-CIF and Foothill League Back of the Year during his senior football season. He was also a star track and field athlete. He played at the University of Colorado and at USC.


Pierce, class of 1959, was a talented track and field and cross-country runner for the Bulldogs. In 1959, he won a state championship in the 110-meter hurdles in a time of 14.3 seconds. He went on to compete for USC.


Ziskin, class of 1966, is one of a group of fine swimmers to come from the Bulldogs’ program. Along with winning many league individual championships, Ziskin captured two CIF titles in the 100-yard breaststroke in 1965 (1:01.6) and 1966 (1:01.8). He was also a three-time All-American and fine water polo player. He competed for USC.


Botting, class of 1974, was a standout pitcher for the Bulldogs’ baseball program. In 1974, he was named the CIF Southern Section 3-A Player of the Year and helped Burbank reach the playoff semifinals. The left-hander was drafted by the California Angels in the seventh round of the 1974 amateur draft and played for the team in 1979 and 1980.


Calderon, class of 1987, is considered my many as one of the best female athletes to come from Burbank. She was an All-CIF honoree in two sports, and still holds school records in basketball and softball. She played third base in college for the University of California, and set a school record (since broken) with 161 assists in a season in 1988.

1967 Coach Kallem

2009 William Rivera, Coach Dave Kemp, Coach Frank Chavez reunite after Alumni Game



Although the two are not Burbank graduates (they both attended Hoover) they are synonymous with Bulldogs athletics. Coaching a variety of sports, the two helped teams win many league and CIF championships, including boys’ cross-country crowns in 1964 and 1970. In addition, both served as athletic directors at the school. Kallem was at the school from 1962-2000 and Kemp coached from 1966-2000.

--- end ---

2008 Athletic Hall of Fame

No comments:

Post a Comment